STR Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Jeffrey Klein, M.D.

The Society of Thoracic Radiology (STR) has awarded the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award to Jeffrey Klein, M.D..

Jeffrey Klein is a native of Brooklyn, New York. As an undergraduate he attended the City University of New York at Brooklyn College where he was enrolled in the 7-year B.A./M.D. program. He then attended medical school and completed a residency in diagnostic radiology at SUNY Downstate Medical Center where he was chief resident, followed by a fellowship in thoracic radiology at the UCSF Medical Center from 1988-1989. After remaining on staff at UCSF and the San Francisco General Hospital for 4 years, Dr. Klein moved to the St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center in Phoenix, Arizona as Associate Radiology Residency program director and chief of thoracic radiology. In 1995 he moved to the University of Vermont Medical Center where he served as chief of thoracic radiology from 1995-2010.

Dr. Klein served as Editor of the Journal of Thoracic Imaging from 1999-2004, and as President of the Society of Thoracic Radiology in 2005. He was Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education at the UVM College of Medicine from 2005-2010. Dr. Klein succeeded Dr. William Olmsted as Editor of Radiographics in 2012 and will step down from this position at the end of 2020. He is currently the A. Bradley Soule and John P. Tampas Green and Gold Professor of Radiology at the UVM College of Medicine. In December 2018, Dr. Klein became the Liaison for Publications and Communications for the RSNA Board of Directors.

Dr. Klein is married to Dr. Judy Tam, a radiologist at UVMMC, and has three children Joshua (21), Benjamin (19), and Jessica (17). In his spare time he enjoys cycling, running and spending time with his family.

STR Gold Medal Recipients

2007 S. David Rockoff
2008 Lawrence R. Goodman
2009 Gordon Gamsu
2010 Theresa C. McLoud
2011 Nestor L. Müller
2012 David P. Naidich
2013 W. Richard Webb
2014 Sanford A. Rubin
2015 Denise R. Aberle
2016 David A. Lynch, MB
2017 Gerald F. Abbott , MD
2018 Melissa L. Rosado de Christenson, MD, FACR
2019 Ella Annabelle Effat Kazerooni, M.D., M.S